And Then I’m Only Seeing Orange

Fall is definitely my favourite seasons and I’m not just saying that because its September! I love the cooler air for going for walks and the changing of the leaves. I have also come to appreciate baking with pumpkin and am learning to finesse my approach to using pumpkin as an ingredient. So far this Fall I have made pumpkin pie, pumpkin cupcakes and today I made Pumpkin shortbread cookies (which don’t REALLY qualify as they do not contain any actual pumpkin).

Here are some of my creations and the recipes I used….

http://www.chatelaine.com/recipe/thanksgiving/pumpkin-cupcakes-with-maple-and-bacon-icing/
http://www.chatelaine.com/recipe/thanksgiving/pumpkin-cupcakes-with-maple-and-bacon-icing/

Pumpkin Cupcakes: YUM. The only adjustment I made to the recipe from Chatelain Magazine was that I didn’t sprinkle any bacon bits on top of the icing. Be forewarned though that the resulting cupcakes are more “muffin” like than light and fluffy like a typical cupcake. The icing MAY be one of the best I have made….and fore sure don’t omit the maple syrup in the icing.

Pumpkin Pie
http://www.landolakes.com/recipe/2923/classic-pumpkin-pie

Pumpkin Pie: this is always a hit and miss for me. Sometimes my pumpkin recipes are awesome and sometimes they are just so so. I have tried a new recipe this time and so far so good. I did add a bit of Tenderflake to the crust recipe (about an 1/8 Cup) just to give it a super flakey crust. Those who know me well, know that I rarely use anything other than an all-butter crust. A recommendation from a friend is that you should always let your pumpkin pie sit for a day as it allows the flavours to develop and tastes better on day 2.

Pumpkin Cookies
http://www.canadianliving.com/food/shortbread_snowflakes.php http://www.canadianliving.com/food/basic_shortbread_cookie_dough.php

Pumpkin Shortbread Cookies: For a cheap 99¢ I picked up a pumpkin cookie cutter this year because it seems like in October I am constantly needing a dozen treats to bring to different events. This is my GO-TO recipe for all shaped cookies that will need to be decorated in coloured icing. I find the recipe for the shortbread cookie itself to need less flour than the recipe recommends and use 1 1/2 cups to make the dough and usually use the other half a cup of leftover flour on the counter when rolling out the dough. I also find this dough easier to work with when it is first made rather than letting it cool in the fridge for the recommended half hour, but I have made the cookies both ways and they turn out the same. For the icing, add as much or as little milk as desired to get the consistency you like. A little goes a long way with the icing and I tend to make too much and have a lot left over. P.S. I always use parchment for these cookies and only bake until they just begin to brown. If you see a lot of brown they are overcooked as shortbread cookies set up quickly and don’t really need to be browned on the edges.

A blog post of Fall wouldn’t be complete without a couple of fun Pumpkin Patch pictures of my kids from this Fall 🙂

Pumpkin patch 3 Pumpkin patch 4

Leave a Reply

