Fall Nostalgia

My 1st try at latte art, next time I’ll let my Primo Barista do it.

Nostalgia: Happy associations, longing, yearning…..At this point in the summer I am not sure if I am feeling nostalgic about the upcoming Fall Season or if I am just looking forward to school being back in session and returning to a regular routine. My house has been 28+ degrees Celsius almost every night in the last few weeks making me feel wistful about the cooler weather to come.

The past few mornings have begun with making bread, drinking lattes and “thinking” about possibly attacking a to-do list. The first and probably the best, is my hope to finally  start one of three books waiting on my nightstand (Dark Aemilia by Sally O’Reilly, Save the Date by Mary Kay Andrews and A Different Sun by Elaine Neil Orr). I’ve been mulling over the idea of starting a book review blog but haven’t worked up the courage or motivation to do so. If you would be interested in hearing about all the many books I read each year please let me know and I will actually start a blog (in order to have the blog I want I would need 30 followers – that means 30 people who want to receive the book reviews I would write on a regular basis)!

The next thing on my to-do list is finding something to make or cook with a giant zucchini on my counter. Muffins, a loaf, fried zucchini as a side with supper, there are lots of options and yet it is still sitting there. I know there are only more zucchini’s to come as they are just starting to be picked by most farmers so I’m sure I’ll be posting some zucchini recipes in the weeks to come.

The last and most put off task of the summer is that of the dreaded school supplies list which when it came home in June got put at the bottom of the paper pile and has not moved in the past 7 weeks.  At this time of year there are always so many emails going around with school lunch ideas and creative ways to keep lunch prep quick and fun. I am definitely not one to follow the super complicated stuff like making every item in the lunchbox shaped like an exotic animal but I do try to skip juice boxes and/or pre-packaged snacks as much as possible. If you have any good and emphasis on the *good* school lunch grocery plans please feel free to share!

The warmer temperatures in my house have given me a limited desire to cook, but this week I did make one supper which my kids actually enjoyed so I thought I would share it. Teriyaki stir fry; its simple, it requires only a few things, and it didn’t take more than half an hour on stove-top to complete (which was the best part for me at least).

Teriyaki Chicken Stir-fry:

  • Ingredients: Chicken Breasts thawed, Peppers, Green Beans (optional), Teriyaki Marinade, Green onion, Cashews or sesame seeds, Rice
  • Cover the chicken breasts with Teriyaki sauce and keep in the fridge during the day so they have time to marinate and/or defrost. Slice into small pieces before cooking.
  • Slice and de-seed peppers, I slice into long thin strips
  • Chop green onion and keep aside as its used as a garnish
  • Chop cashews and set aside
  • Heat a pan with some canola oil and cook chicken breasts (I discard the Teriyaki sauce that was used to marinate and just add more from the bottle right after cooking the chicken to give it a bit of sauce. Cover and set chicken aside (takes about 10 minutes)
  • Over medium heat, saute peppers and green beans in some canola oil until they are softened and browned slightly. I normally saute them covered and add salt, pepper and dried garlic). If you like a bit of heat, add in some red pepper flakes.
  • Meanwhile, cook rice if using minute rice (5 minutes)
  • Once the vegetables are cooked, add chicken to the vegetables and mix. Place in a bowl and top with green onion and chopped cashews.
  • Serve over rice.

    For my husband who didn't know there was a way to cut a pepper without getting seeds all over the floor.
    For my husband who didn’t know there was a way to cut a pepper without getting seeds all over the floor.

Buttermilk Bread Recipe:

Loved this.
Loved this.

http://localmilkblog.com/2014/04/soft-sweet-buttermilk-honey-bread.html

Leave a Reply

