Black Bean Soup

I like soup, I don’t mind beans, and I know they are a great source of protein so why not try it? This is the way I felt when I was purchasing all the ingredients I needed after reading a few recipes for Black Bean Soup. Most of the recipes I found seemed quite dull in flavor so I chose a highly flavorful recipe to start from and quickly found out I may have overdone the flavors a little. During the cooking process my son declared he already knows he doesn’t like whats for supper just by its smell. It’s not that it smelled bad but that my son wasn’t used to the smell of the cumin in the soup which can be very aromatic. Also the recipe I had used as my guide was a vegan recipe and that sort of went out the door when I put in chicken stock instead of vegetable broth but that’s what makes a recipe your own. Since there are already so many Black Bean Soup recipes out there, I will share some of the basic ingredients and you are welcome to use the link I used to follow it step by step or add in your own flavors.

P.S.Black beans are a superfood, they are a source of protein and fiber and are great for your digestive tract. The protein in beans also helps you stay fuller for longer after you eat. Pretty much no other food by itself compares to the health benefits of legumes which is probably, not surprisingly, the reason it is a staple in the diet of so many cultures all over the world.

  • Cans of Black Beans – about 3 large cans
  • Veggies (Chopped Carrots, Celery, Onion)
  • Soup Stock (Vegetable or Chicken stock)
  • Olive oil and a few chopped garlic cloves
  • Spices: Cumin, Red Pepper Flakes, Salt, Pepper, Garlic – next time I might omit cumin and use something else, maybe chili or a bit of cayenne pepper. I would not use the recommended amount of cumin from the recipe I used it was way too much in my opinion. Just use flavors you normally enjoy in foods, if you like spicy use red pepper flakes, cayenne, hot sauce or whatever you have.
  • Touch of lemon juice
  • Saute garlic and olive oil, add in any chopped vegetables and spices and cook covered until soft. Add 3 cups of soup stock (I use Knorr Chicken Stock which makes I think 3 3/4 cups). Add beans and cook soup covered for at least 45 minutes on medium low. Near the end I add in some lemon juice and then puree the soup in a blender.
  • Serve by itself or topped with a bit of shredded cheese or a dollop of sour cream and a bun (again deeming it unvegan – if that’s a real word). For vegan use vegetable broth, no cheese or any other dairy and sorry no bread either).
  • The recipe I used as inspiration and a guide in making my soup was: http://cookieandkate.com/2013/spicy-vegan-black-bean-soup/

Black Bean Soup 2 Black Bean Soup 3 Black Bean Soup 5  Black Bean Soup 4Black Bean Soup1

Leave a Reply

