Rib Night

BBQ Ribs, Yummy.

I’m not sure about other families, but my family loves ribs. My son doesn’t quite remember what they are called and will request “the meat on a bone”. I usually braise ribs in the oven first and then crock pot them with BBQ sauce but switched it up this time and got excellent results. I made a dry rub with stuff I already had at home, wrapped the ribs in tin foil and cooked in a 300 oven for 2.5 hrs, afterwards we fired up the BBQ and brushed on the BBQ sauce and cooked for an additional 15-20 min on the BBQ. They turned out awesome and I will definitely try this method again. I am also quite proud as for the first time in a LONG time I was able to get the membrane off in one quick pull. The BBQ sauce I used was bought strangely enough from Chapters, they had all their Father’s Day BBQ sauces and Marinades on 30% off so I decided to try something new from the standard grocery store brands.

BBQ sauce Ribs

  • Prep your ribs, cut into lengths easy enough to wrap in tinfoil and fit on a baking sheet. Make sure to take off the membrane from the underside of the ribs.
  • Dry rub for ribs: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/dry-rub-for-ribs/ (I didn’t use anywhere near 1.5 tbsp of salt and pepper, I used more like 1.5 tsp).
  • Apply dry rub front and back (let marinate overnight if you can – I never think of this ahead of time so mine usually go right into the oven).
  • Cover with tinfoil tightly and place ribs on a baking sheet in a 300 degree oven for 2 to 2.5.
  • Once the ribs are done in the oven, brush on BBQ sauce and BBQ them until a nice crust on the outside forms, usually 15-20 minutes, applying more BBQ sauce if needed during the cooking.
  • Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

